Back to listing

For all press and media enquiries please contact Jon Flinn on 07811 397122 or email [email protected]

ABRSM publishes new collection of contemporary pieces

7 years ago

ABRSM has today added to its Spectrum series with the release of a fifth book of contemporary works for solo piano. Spectrum 5 contains 15 pieces that have been specially commissioned from some of today’s leading composers and reflect current compositional trends. The pieces range in difficulty from Grade 6 to diploma, and are suitable for student, amateur and professional pianists of all ages.

A word from the series compiler

Thalia Myers, series compiler said "Although the pieces in Spectrum 5 are generally harder to play than many of those in earlier piano volumes, the purpose of Spectrum has remained unchanged since the first anthology twenty-odd years ago: to commission some of the finest composers to write pieces of modest length and difficulty, while preserving the essential characteristics of their compositional style." "There are now 156 pieces for solo piano in the Spectrum series that will appeal equally to student, amateur and professional performers and their audiences," she continued. Recordings of all Spectrum 5 pieces, performed by Thalia Myers, will be available as downloads from early November.

Find out more

The Spectrum series

The Spectrum series was established by ABRSM and Thalia Myers for piano in 1996, and now includes volumes for piano duet, violin, cello, clarinet, trumpet and string quartet. Spectrum 5 is now available to purchase online at or from music retailers worldwide.

Back to listing

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. By using our website, you are agreeing to our cookie policy and consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.